More

28Feb10

It’s 1:45am on a Sunday morning and I have to wake up at 6:00am to go play guitar at church. I should be fast asleep getting rested for my early morning but I can’t sleep.  Partly because of the two cups of coffee I drank while reading tonight and partly because of what I was reading.

This book is one that I’d recommend to anyone who calls themself a Christian, and I say “calls themself” because of the following. The Bible is clear in that we should welcome looking into and checking out our salvation. 2 Corinthians 3:15 in the Message sums it up clearly.

Test yourselves to make sure you are solid in the faith. Don’t drift along taking everything for granted. Give yourselves regular checkups. You need firsthand evidence, not mere hearsay, that Jesus Christ is in you. Test it out. If you fail the test, do something about it.

The main theme of the book asks the question, Are we truly in love with Christ? Most Christians immediately think, yes. This book does an excellent job of looking deeper into that question and begging the question, Are you a Christian or are you a lukewarm Christian? and even further, Is there such a thing as a lukewarm Christian?

Just know, I’m not recommending a book that just makes you feel guilty and doubt your salvation. Quite the opposite! This is a book that makes you want to get re-saved! I’m inspired to follow my God in a way that I haven’t. God truly wants my best and all of it and when I take an honest look at my life and the way I spend my time and energy, God is not at the top.

There are many books like these that you can read to give you a quick spiritual inspiration that lasts just a few weeks only to fade away, but I’m challenging myself to make this more than just a inspirational read. If you want more of God the answer isn’t to find yourself another book or sermon to listen to, it’s to ask God for more and then give more!

One Response to “More”

  1. 1 CIndy

    This is great!! It is where I am in my life. I want to be more than just a believer. I want to be full of his Holy spirit!!


Leave a Reply

